Patria Hume, Auckland University of TechnologyFollow
Martin Dowson, High Performance Sport New ZealandFollow
Mike Stanley, AUT MillenniumFollow
Barry Wilson, Auckland University of TechnologyFollow
Simon Briscoe, High Performance Sport New ZealandFollow
Allan Carman, Auckland University of TechnologyFollow
Jodie Cosser, High Performance Sport New ZealandFollow
Justin Evans, High Performance Sport New ZealandFollow
Sarah-Kate Millar, Auckland University of TechnologyFollow
Michael Schofield, Auckland University of TechnologyFollow
Kim Hebert-Losier, The University of WaikatoFollow
Craig Harrison, Auckland University of TechnologyFollow
Kim Simperingham, Auckland University of TechnologyFollow
Bruce Hamilton, High Performance Sport New ZealandFollow
Kelly Sheerin, Auckland University of TechnologyFollow
Rodrigo Rico Bini, La Trobe UniversityFollow
Andrew E. Kilding, Auckland University of TechnologyFollow
Robert Tang, High Performance Sport New ZealandFollow
Andre de Jong, High Performance Sport New ZealandFollow
Farhan Tinwala, Auckland University of TechnologyFollow
Cameron Ross, HIgh Performance Sport New ZealandFollow
Paul McAlpine, High Performance Sport New ZealandFollow
Josh McGeown, Auckland University of Technology, AucklandFollow
Enora Le Flao, Auckland University of TechnologyFollow
Dustin Oranchuk, Auckland University of TechnologyFollow
Erika Ikeda, Auckland University of TechnologyFollow
Jono Neville, Auckland University of TechnologyFollow
Aaron Uthoff, Auckland University of TechnologyFollow
Andrew Pichardo, Auckland University of TechnologyFollow
Shelley Diewald, Auckland University of TechnologyFollow
Renata Gottgtroy, Auckland University of TechnologyFollow
Jessica Yeoman, Auckland University of Technology, AucklandFollow
Casey Watkins, Auckland University of TechnologyFollow
Eric Harbour, Auckland University of TechnologyFollow
Anja Zoellner, Auckland University of TechnologyFollow
Alyssa Joy Spence, Auckland University of TechnologyFollow
Victor Lopez Jr, Rugby Research and Injury Prevention Research GroupFollow
Albert Chang, High Performance Sport New ZealandFollow



Document Type



An interactive afternoon of sessions delivered by High Performance Sport New Zealand (HPSNZ) and AUT SPRINZ Biomechanists, Performance Analysts and other biomechanics relevant sport facing practitioners. The 11 sessions are at AUT Millennium (AUTM), which is a satellite site of AUT University and the Auckland training hub for many HPSNZ supported sports such as athletics, sailing, and swimming. These sports and others (cycling, rowing, snow sports etc.) will be represented in the line-up. The applied sessions involve practical demonstrations of aspects of analysis and/or tools used to deliver in the field to directly positively impact athletes performances on the world stage. Following these engaging sessions there will be tasting of New Zealand wine, allowing for further discussion and networking. Sir Graeme Avery will be acknowledged for his contribution to sport science.

Mike Stanley is AUT Millennium Chief Executive & NZ Olympic Committee President will explain the partners in the facility. AUT Millennium is a charitable trust established to help New Zealanders live longer and healthier lives, and to enjoy and excel in sport through the provision of world-class facilities, services, research and education. Founded in 2002 as Millennium Institute of Sport and Health (MISH) by Sir Stephen Tindall and Sir Graeme Avery as a premium health and fitness facility for both athletes and the public alike. Partnered with AUT University in 2009, forming AUT Millennium, to expand research and education in the sporting sector.

Professor Barry Wilson is an Adjunct Professor with SPRINZ at Auckland University of Technology and will be outlining the research and student opportunities. Martin Dowson is the General Manager Athlete Performance Support at High Performance Sport New Zealand and has overall responsibility for the programme. Simon Briscoe, AUT Millennium Applied Session Coordinator, is the head of the Performance and Technique Analysis discipline within HPSNZ. Simon is coordinating the applied sessions along with technical support from Dr Allan Carman, Research Fellow, AUT SPRINZ.

Jodi Cossor and Matt Ingram will provide a demonstration of a multidisciplinary approach driven by biomechanical analysis for Paralympic swimmers. Justin Evans and Sarah-Kate Millar will provide a practical session assessing the athletes rowing stroke to assist the coach on technical changes. This session will demonstrate various rowing traits and how the biomechanist and coach can work together to optimise boat speed. Mike Schofield and Kim Hébert-Losier will provide a session looking at shotput and the evidence based approach to coaching. Dr Craig Harrison and Professor John Cronin will provide examples from the AUTM Athlete Development programme. Kim Simperingham and Jamie Douglas who work with high performance rugby athletes will outline sprinting mechanics in practice. Dr Bruce Hamilton, Fiona Mather, Justin Ralph and Rone Thompson will demonstrate the approach of HPSNZ and Cycling NZ performance health teams in the use of some specific tools for prevention of injury and optimisation of performance. Kelly Sheerin, Denny Wells and Associate Professor Thor Besier will provide examples of using IMU and motion capture methods for running and basketball biomechanics research, education and service. Dr Rodrigo Bini and Associate Professor Andrew Kilding will show how linking of biomechanics and physiology improves injury prevention and performance enhancement. Robert Tang, Andre de Jong and Farhan Tinwala discuss select projects developed by Goldmine, HPSNZ’s in-house engineering team, and how these innovations have enabled unprecedented levels of biomechanics feedback. Cameron Ross and Paul McAlpine demonstrate the technology being used at the Snow Sports NZ training centre in Cadrona to enhance load monitoring of athletes. This application allows greater insight into training performances and biomechanical loads than has been previously possible in the training environment.

AUT Millennium tour guides are coordinated by Josh McGeown and include Enora Le Flao, Dustin Oranchuk, Erika Ikeda, Jono Neville, Aaron Uthoff, Andrew Pichardo, Farhan Tinwala, Shelley Diewald, Renata Bastos Gottgtroy, Jessica Yeoman, Casey Watkins, Eric Harbour, Anja Zoellner, Alyssa Joy Spence, Victor Lopez Jr, and Albert Chang.